Twilight

Twilight

Twilight, by Stephanie Meyer is an addictive novel. This is my third time through it and even though I know how it ends and everything that happens, I still stayed up till six in the morning to finish it!

I love pretty much everything about this novel. I love Bella and I love Edward… When I say that, I mean I love the characters that were created by the author. I think that the actors portrayal of them in the film is too atrocious for words, and I can not believe that I forced myself to watch that movie three times.  Anyway, as I was saying, I love this novel. The writing wasn’t always the best, but often times, that isn’t what draws you in to the novel. You have to be able to identify with the characters, and I could certainly identify with Bella.

I find myself sitting here wondering, where is my Edward? Now I know the common complaints… Edward is too controlling, he is creepy, he is freakishly possessive… and I have to admit that all of those things that many people find unattractive, I like. Yeah, he always got his way, but everyone always want to get their way… I know I always want my own way. But enough with my desire to be with someone who wears the pants in the relationship.

There are so many moments I go back to in Twilight, even when I am not rereading it, and I feel my heart flutter. There is nothing I want more, in those moments, then to be actually experiencing what is going on. The time Bella see Edward in the sunlight, when she hears him play the piano, the first kiss… I wanted it all.

And then there are the amazing minor characters… I have to say that Emmett and Alice are two of my favorite characters (though maybe that is more in the later books). I love Alice, just for being Alice. She is totally herself. A little crazy, a little hyper… a little amazing. And Emmett, now who wouldn’t want a teddy bear like Emmett? He is like the big brother I never had but always wanted. I love how protective he gets of Bella. I love his desire to hurt James (I don’t approve of murder though…) And I love him! I cannot understand him and Rosalie at all… The Ice Queen and the Teddy Bear… what an odd pairing!

Anyway, all of that said, I love this novel. It gripped me from the start… and then the sequels started coming. I have to be honest and admit that I haven’t finished the series. I read the first half of the third book and the first 400 pages of the last one and then I couldn’t force myself to do it anymore. I hated it! It wasn’t the Twilight that I loved! I HATE, HATE, HATE Jacob Black. I mean, I don’t think I can describe in words how much I hate him. If I could go into book history and erase a character, I would erase Jacob Black…

So, yeah, okay that was too much rambling about things that don’t matter. This is probably my worst review yet (in terms of being written). I am now at a cross roads. Do I try to reread the series now that I have spent a year coming to terms with how this series ends, or do I look it as a one shot? Do I read New Moon next or do I just skip it and read whatever book is next on my TBR pile???  Any thoughts and impute from the maybe non-existent audience?

Rating: 5 (because I love this one too much to take its minor faults -aka Jacob Black – into account!

Leave a Reply

