Down a Dark Hall

Down A Dark Hall

This will be just a short review considering I am tired and I have an exam to study for. I finally finish Down a Dark Hall by Lois Duncan. This was one of my favorites from Middle School and I was eager to re-read it. However, I have to say that it read with some disappointment. I found a lot of small but significant contradictions. A lot of things seemed to happen too quickly. In addition, I was left wondering how it all happened.

For some of the things, I just had to remind myself the fact that this was set in the seventies for some of the things. Like, maybe it was more common in the seventies to take off for four months on a honeymoon. And that it would be fine to leave ones child in a boarding school and not hear from them and only worry enough to call them once. Although, admittedly, maybe the school mistress blocked any other calls from the mother. Still, it seems strange that you would spend all of that money on a trip to Europe and never call your only daughter.

Luckily it was a short book. Sometimes I get so nostalgic that I just have to read my books from my younger years and then I realize that I don’t like them at all. I think that I should leave the past in the past and try to read things that I think that I would enjoy in the current times. Anyway, so all of that aside, I give this book a 3/5 stars. The mystery was still good (though I wondered at how dense Kit was at times) and I still do have this unusual obsession with boarding schools.

I am currently reading (or listening to) Anne of Green Gables. She is such a funny little thing. Anyway, I am off to study for my lit exam… that means reading some more!

Leave a Reply

