End of South

I finally finished that horrible non-fiction book “South” by Ernest Shackleton. Here is my recommendation to readers… spare yourself. Only read this book if you (1) don’t plan on listening to it via audiobook, (2) like non-fiction books about exploring places with nothing but snow -which leads to over 400 pages of nothing but lack of food and abundance of frostbite and destruction of ships, and (3) you want to be bored out of your mind. Now, to be honest, I have to admit that I blanked out during much of “South” so it could be better than I am making it out to be… I doubt it, but I know my reading tastes aren’t the same of everyone elses. Luckily for me, the last 4 audio sessions were appendix so I did not need to listen to them!

In terms of the 24-hour labor day read-a-thon, I have completed 15 hours. So it took me 15 hours to listen to that drabble and what do I immediately do? Do I pick up something nice and not difficult, like Sarah Dessen or Meg Cabot or J.K. Rowling? Something I know I will enjoy and don’t require massive amounts of brain usage? Nope… I put on Macbeth on audiobook. Now, to give Librivox some credit, all of the characters are played by someone else. However, I have always struggled with William Shakespeare. I don’t like “old” stuff. I really should be looking at the script while listening to it because I cannot for the life of me keep the voices straight.

I have to make another confession, dear audience. I do not do well with audiobooks. I am not able to learn things by just listening to it. I am a visual learner. As a matter of fact, I only put on audiobooks when I have to multi-task, but still want to get out some of the tasks for the Seasonal Reading Challenge. I probably shouldn’t count them as points… But I am going to because I did half-listen to them.

Hour 15 update:
South by Ernest Shackleton- complete 34/34 podcasts (448 pages)
Macbeth by William Shakespeare – in progress 2/6 podcasts

Leave a Reply

