Plan B by Charnan Simon

Title: Plan B

Author: Charnon Simon

Summary from Goodreads:

Is this happily ever after? Lucy has her life planned out: she’ll graduate and then join her boyfriend, Luke, at college in Austin. She’ll become a Spanish teacher and of course they’ll get married. So there’s no reason to wait, right? They try to be careful. But then Lucy gets pregnant. Now, none of Lucy’s options are part of her picture-perfect plan. Together, she and Luke will have to make the most difficult decision of their lives.

Personal Review:

I want to preface my review by saying that I really wanted to like this book. I went into it with high hopes. Actually, after finishing it, I thought that this might be a first novel for the author and was astonished to see that Charnan Simon had published 100 books.

Now to get on to the particulars of my problem with this book. First and foremost, there was very little to no character development in this novel. I don’t even think there were even descriptions of what the characters looked like. To me, this book read like a short prewrite with room continue and fill in the holes. I actually checked to see if I had received the whole novel because it did not read like a complete story. It read like a children’s book with young adult topics.

And then there was the ending. I totally did not know what to make of it because it was so incomplete. I felt like it could have used another hundred pages at least. Like I said, I really wanted to like this book, but it just had too many problems for me to really get into it.

Rating: 2

Leave a Reply

