Booking Through Thursday

This week’s question asks:

All other things being equal–do you prefer used books? Or new books? (The physical speciman, that is, not the title.) Does your preference differentiate between a standard kind of used book, and a pristine, leather-bound copy?
Hosted at: http://btt2.wordpress.com }

 

Hmm, this is an interesting question that I have actually thought about before. I am one of those people that my opinion differs based on the binding. For paperback books, I prefer books that have been read once or twice, but not too many times. I rarely get those books because I have to admit I don’t go t used book stores that often. Anyway, I prefer them read because it isn’t such a struggle to keep the page open or whatever. However, I don’t like them at the point where the binding looks like it is going to break apart. For hardcover books, I like them in any form I can get them in. I know that they are heavier so I have to read them sitting at a table (I have weak wrists) but if I could have every single book in hardcover, I would. I love them. They are more durable. They look better. I just really love hardcover books. But my ultimate favorite, which I don’t even own any books in this form, is hardcover leather bound with gold embossing. I love them. They are the prettiest books in the world. If I could have my entire library that way, I would. I went to visit an old family friend and he had around 100 classics that way on a bookshelf and it was the most elegant, prettiest thing I had ever seen. I really just wanted to read those books and have a library full of books that looked exactly like that.

Anyway, how do you like your books? Happy THURSDAY!

 

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday

Leave a Reply

