Booking Through Thursday

Booking Through Thursday is hosted by Booking Through Thursday. The Question for this Thursday is: Do you cheat and peek at the ends of books? (Come on, be honest.)

Wow, this is a great question. I mean, I am a person who hate surprises. I try to bribe my family into telling me what they got my for presents before the fact. I just hate surprises all together. So for this, you would think that I would look at the end, but that is only half-true. When it comes to books, I have to be careful with looking at the end. Some times when I read the endings of books, I never end up finishing them. One example of this is The Weight of Silence. The suspense had become too much for me and I looked at the end. Upon doing this, all of the suspense was gone and I never finished reading it. However, sometimes when I read the end or I read the summary, it makes me want to read it even more because I want to see how they got there. There are some books I can read over and over again, even knowing the ending, and others that upon knowing the ending, I can never read it again. So I have to say that it depends on the ending and whether it disappoints me or if I am okay with it.

What about you? Do you read the end before or not? Why or why not?

12 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. I am so shocked by how many people read the ends. I think I end up tossing most if not all of my books if I did that. But it seems to be a popular choice. I’m not against it for other people, just me! ;O)

  2. I didn’t think about the fact of rereading books, but even with books I reread – I read them in one order front to back. For me it’s just part of how I am – I’m a very orderly person and like to do things in specific ways.

  3. I have also ruined books for myself by reading ahead, so I do try to be restrained! It’s interesting to think about which books I reread often and how the ending affects that. Some books rely so much on the anticipation of the ending for their narrative impetus that once that’s gone they fall a bit flat.

Leave a Reply

