Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Title: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5)

Author: J.K. Rowling

Summary from Goodreads:

The fifth hefty installment to J.K. Rowling’s renowned Harry Potter series takes a uniquely psychological and intensely dark turn, bringing the boy wizard at odds with his own identity and friendships as he continues to fight He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. Now fifteen years old with four Voldemort battles under his belt, Harry feels frustrated about the growing public skepticism about the Dark Lord’s return. Unfortunately, the Ministry of Magic is also voicing its doubt, and all of Hogwarts comes under the watchful eye of an oppressive Ministry representative. Despite the additional problems of looming O.W.L. exams and Hagrid’s inexplicable absence, Harry’s main preoccupation is his vivid dreams that take him to places — and make him witness events — that horrify and intrigue him. These dreams provide a shocking clue to his very existence, and when eventually they lead Harry to confrontation, the wizard must cope with a tragic death and a telling prophecy about his future. Intricate in plot, charged with unease, and deeply fulfilling on every level, Rowling’s continuation won’t fail to leave fans open-mouthed and breathless for what’s to come.

Personal Review:

I read Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix when it initially came out. I was 15 (Harry’s age in the book) and I remember dispising him. I thought that he was way too moody and I was so pissed off at him. When I first read it, I put it down for about two months before convincing myself to pick it back up and finish it. I loved the Harry Potter series but I absolutely hated the character of Harry Potter. I thought he was a whinny brat and that he needed to desperately be slapped in the face.

So it was with much trepidation that I picked up the book to read it again this week. I decided to re-read the books because I haven’t read them in a while and when I was fourteen and struggling with life, Harry Potter literally saved my life in ways that are too personal to explain to the blogosphere. I had decided to listen to the audio version by Jim Dale. I must admit that I liked Jim Dale’s voices and I think he is incredible talented… but I hated this book just as much as I remembered.

I got so mad at Harry’s stupid pride, that he wouldn’t tell anyone about the awful detention that Umbridge was putting him through. That he thought the whole world, Dumbledore included, was against him. But the thing that I was must angry about concerning Harry is how mad he got with Ron and Hermione. They are his best friends and he, quiet frankly, treated them like crap. They deserve a better friend that him… but alas, that is not how the series goes.

And then, as my last point of review, is the character of Sirius Black. I used to love the character of Sirius Black, but now I hate him. He is so selfish and self involved. I used to pity him when I was a teenager, but now as an adult I realize just how immature he was and how much he needed to man up. Life isn’t about doing everything you want to do when you want to do it. Life is about getting done what really needs to get done without the fame and glory. He could have avoided his own death by not going. Someone needed to tell Dumbledore about the events at the ministry, and he is the one who was assigned the task, and yet he pushes it off onto the shady character of Kreacher. I have come to realize that in many respects, Sirius Black is just as bad a person as Malfoy or Snape. Snape is not the shining beacon of light and he shouldn’t have taken his childhood out on Harry, but the truth is that Sirius never got over that time either and still took it out on Snape.

I should probably say that Snape is one of my favorite characters in this series. He literally put his life on the line every day for the Order, and most of them treated him like he was still evil and untrustworthy. I am not sure that I would have had the ability to stay with people who treated me as badly as the Order treated Snape.

So what do you think? I am delusional and Snape is evil icky and Sirius is a god? Am I right? Is the truth really somewhere in between? What are your thoughts on HP #5? Is this anyone’s favorite book?

Rating: 2

Leave a Reply

