Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon

On April 9th, there will be…

Dewey’s 24 hour Read-a-thon. Yes, that really is as crazy as it sounds. So far, 218 readers around the world will be involved in this event of insanity, defying tiredness and all other distractions to strive to stay awake for 24-hours doing nothing but reading. Now this might sound crazy to you, but it is one of the best events of my life! I have never made it 24 hours, but that doesn’t stop me from trying, and this year I am determined to do it.

There is such comradery amongst the readers. We take over twitter, have mini-challenges, and spend a day fill up peoples feed-readers with an abundance of  blog updates. It happens twice a year, and the spring read-a-thon is 21 days away. So please, join in the fun! Even if you don’t have time to read, you can be a cheerleader (see link above for details).

Some people decide to use this opportunity as an opportunity to donate to an organization. In the past, I have given to the R.A.I.N.N  Foundation, as well as donating cans of food to the local food drive. Unfortunately, at this time I am unemployed and unable to donate money, but I will keep track of the number of pages and donate a penny a page after getting a job.

Anyway, if you are involved in this wonderful event, please give me the link to your blog and your twitter account so we can be friends and I can follow your progress in three weeks time. And even if you aren’t participating, give me your info so I can try to pursued you to even just read for an hour or two! It is so much fun and I guarantee that you will not regret whatever time you put into this challenge. Even if it is just listening to an audio book while out on the go!

SO COME ON AND JOIN THE FUN!!!

Leave a Reply

