Quick Update

So, for the most part, I have taken a short break from reading. I finished reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and I read 100 pages of The True Story of Hansel and Gretel by Louise Murphey. I have also read 200 pages of Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly. I was listening to it on audio but the voices really irritated me and I discovered that I would probably prefer the book if I was reading it and not listening to horribly cliche French accents. Anyway, my partial book holiday is so that I don’t burn myself out before the readathon! I am so excited for it.

I have 32 books checked out from the library and 2 books I own. Wow, that is a ridiculous amount! Take a look at my list and tell me if you have any recommendations on ones you think I should start off reading:

Wow, that was a lot of books! I think I have a problem (checking too many books out from the library).

In addition, I like to donate money to my favorite charity, RAINN, which stands for Rape, Abuse, & Incest National Network. As a victim of rape, I am a firm believer in this charity. They help people who are victims of rape or incest. They have a 24-hour network which you can contact via phone or a chat on their website. In addition, they help people who have been victims of abuse.

If you do not have a foundation you want to support in particular please pick this one. There are so many victims out there and this is a foundation that tries to help as much as they can. As an addition, during the month of April, any donation will be matched up to $30,000. If you want to match my donation or anything like that, please let me know. Because I am an unemployed college graduation (damn this economy), I can only do about a penny a page. I know this isn’t a lot, but this is one foundation I truly believe in and I want to do whatever I can to help them out.

So are you reading for a cause? If so, which one?

9 thoughts on “Quick Update

  1. OK, I know this will be my first Read-a-Thon, but that was indeed a LOT of books. 😛

    I am planning on getting 4 books out of the library (which is the maximum amount I can get at once) and I have three more at home… will that do? Should I get more books?

    Though, I’m not even sure I will be able to stay up the entire time… my parents don’t know about this yet. 😀

    Anyway, I’m not going to be reading for a cause, unfortunately. Maybe next time…

    • lol, no I think that you have a fine amount of books. I am a really moody reader and if I am not in the mood to read a book, I won’t read it. I like to have a wide variety. Plus, in the library, I am like a kid in a candy shop…I just can’t help myself. Good luck with the readathon! I don’t remember what number this is for me, but I love it!

  2. I’m sorry to say I haven’t read any of those, but I am interested in the Lincoln Vampire hunter one. Let me know if it’s any good. I’m stopping by from the “A to Z” challenge and I look forward to reading more from you.

    • I will. I started it about a year ago, but I didn’t buy it and this is my first chance to pick it up again. I will be writing a review on it and will let you know how it goes.

  3. Best of luck with the Read-a-thon. My list is not nearly as comprehensive nor LONG! Wow.

    Great choice of charities to read for. I’ve chosen First Book, which provides children from low-income families their first books.

  4. I just wanted to say that I’m totally inspired by all the other people reading for charity today! I’m reading for the Virginia Beach Public Library myself but there are a ton of great organizations represented. Keep up the great work and I hope you’ve enjoyed the books you’ve read so far!

Leave a Reply

