Final Hour

Well, I finished my final book with 7 minutes to spare… turns out the late hour and boggled my mind and my math was all wrong. I only had 20 pages left, not 30. Either case, I am proud of myself. I participated in this for a total of 20 hours (had a four hour nap in hours 8-12.  I read three books, and 1/5 of another audio book. The books  completed include: Snow Treasure by Marie McSwigan, Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde, and Beastly by Alex Flinn. Reviews for those books will be coming out later in the week.

Here are my answers to the questions posted at the beginning of hour 24:

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Well, I didn’t manage to sleep before the start of the readathon so I took a nap between hours 8-12. So hour 7 was probably the most daunting for me before I took a nap!
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I really liked Beastly by Alex Flinn. It was simplistic reading that was interesting and kept the reader going, but didn’t involve too much brain useage… especially good for the wee hours of the morning.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope, it is perfect! I mean, I wish it wasn’t so early in my time zone (5 am) but someone has to get stuck with the time so it might as well be me. lol The one thing is that in previous years there were more videos on the hourly posts… a little slice of something to make you laugh or jault you back awake. Having that again would be nice.
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Everything. It seemed to run really smoothly.
5. How many books did you read? I finished three and am 20% done with a forth.
6. What were the names of the books you read? Snow Treasure by Marie McSwigan, Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde, and Beastly by Alex Flinn were the books I finished. I started but didn’t finish Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde
7. Which book did you enjoy most? Umm, hard to say. I enjoyed them all in different way. I don’t really think that I could pick one. I would say that Well of Lost Plots was not as good as Lost in a Good Book.
8. Which did you enjoy least? Well of Lost Plots
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? Not a Cheerleader, but I think they are great!
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? 1000000000000% likely! I will do it as a reader. Sometimes I have personal 24 hour readathons, but they are never as fun as the ones hosted on Dewey (duh, I don’t do mini-challenges). But then again, I get more reading done in my personal readathons because there aren’t mini-challenges and twitter and hourly updates to distract me from my reading.

READATHON STATS:

Pages read: 400
Audio Minutes: 655 (equivalent of 400 pages)

Apparently I only read about 800 pages, but you can’t control the speed in which an audio book is read… I thought I had read more but apparently not. I will be donating about 20 dollars to the RAINN foundation as soon as I can.

So how did you do in the readathon?

12 thoughts on “Final Hour

  1. Oh my goodness! A readathon! Sounds like a lot of fun for a bibliophile like myself. Only, I probably wouldn’t be able to participate what with all the blogging I have to do for the A-Z. 🙂 thanks for sharing about the readathon. maybe I’ll join in next time
    nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

    • You should definitely join in next time (October). You don’t have to do it for the full 24 hours. I did 20 of the 24 hours. Anyway, definitely check it out. It is a lot of fun!

  2. I am glad to hear you liked Beastly by ALex Flinn. I just finished Swimming Underwater which was very good and a fast read as well. I know her since we go to the same writers conferences a couple times a year and it is so cool about Beastly in the movie. You meet a lot of neat people at writers conferences. I met Kate DeCamillo (Because of Winn Dixie) and the weekend I met her was just when they were making it into a movie and she had to fly out to Cal to be there. It was really neat.

    • There is another readathon in October. It is a wonderful event and I definitely encourage you to do it! It is a lot of fun and you get the chance to meet tons of terrific readers and bloggers from all over the world. You can find more information on 24hourreadathon.com. Let me know if you decide to participate next time!

  3. Did not know about this either. But I’m trying to finish a piece on a deadline for an editor. I am such a slow reader, faster now with my Kindle, but things like this scare me like the high dive.
    Kudos to you for finishing!

Leave a Reply

