Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists! Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists.
Jamie here (you might also know me as Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner). This week I’m talking about all those books I probably wouldn’t have read had it not been for the prodding of some other bookish people. So, here’s my top ten books I’m glad people recommended to me because I would have for sure skipped over them/not have known they existed/judged based on the cover alone.”

  1. Harry Potter series – My grandma gave me this book for Christmas one year. I tried to read it many times but I just could not get past the first five chapters. It was boring (an opinion I still maintain about the first five chapters). Then in eighth grade (nine years ago) my then boyfriend told me that I could not judge the book without actually getting through the book. Harry Potter is the only good thing I got out of that relationship (cheated on my with my then best friend). Anyway, I love the Harry Potter series and just recently finished re-reading them.
  2. Twilight – A friend of mine from college recommended that I read this book. I loved the first one. However, I hate the other three. So I am glad to have read the first one, but that is the only Twilight series book that I read (I have re-read it about five or six times).
  3. Da Vinci Code – I was lurking on facebook and I saw that one of my best friends from Middle School had listed this book as a favorite of hers. I had “heard” a lot of controversy surrounded this book, but I had never read it. I immediately went out and read it and I loved it, which led to me reading Dan Brown’s other books and I love his books. I always love a good mystery and Dan Brown’s a really interesting to me.
  4. Wither – No one really recommended this book to me… I just saw it reviewed on a lot of blogs and so I went out and bought it. I am half-way through it right now, but I love it. It is a great book and I never would have gone out and read it without all the great reviews.
  5. The Hunger Games – Wow, I love this series. After Harry Potter, this is my favorite book series. This was a group read on Goodreads. I loved it and I have spread it around to many of my friends and family and they all love it as well.
  6. Sweet Valley – Yeah, I know, lame… but in High School and Middle School, I loved them. The girls in my school passed them around quiet a bit, so I would say all the girls who read them would be the ones who recommended it to me.
  7. Truth or Die – This is a series of mystery type things that happened in a college. The series is called Nightmare Hall. I really enjoyed this book in High School. Truth and Die is the first book I read and it would recommended to me by my ex-best friend (see #1). The book has one of the best prologues I have ever read. I have re-read the book several times, but I have re-read the prologue a hundred times. I love it.
  8. Sarah Dessen books – One of the girls in my hall in college recommended Sarah Dessen to me and I have loved all of her books that I have read. I plan on reading all of them. I love how she addresses the big issues that teens face. Sarah Dessen is one of my favorite author’s.
  9. The Kite Runner – I love, love, LOVE this book. This is a great book. It was required reading in one of my college classes so I am counting it as recommended from the Professor. This is definitely one of those books I would have never picked up on my own and I am so glad that I read it. It is amazing.
  10. Wondrous Strange – I don’t remember which blog this was reviewed on. I think that Christy from the Story Siren. I don’t usually read paranormal books and other than Artemis Fowl, I have never read a book about Faeries. But this is a great series and I love it. I am about to start the second book and I am so looking forward to it. If you haven’t read this series, then I highly recommend it.
Anyway, those are my top ten favorite recommended books. What are yours? Have you missed any of these series, because if so, this is me recommending them to you…
15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. The Kite Runner is on my list too! It’s such a wonderful but heartbreaking book! If you haven’t already- I strongly recommend reading Hossieni’s second book, A Thousand Splendid Suns. It’s just as good as The Kite Runner, if not better. Amazing.

    • Ashley, thanks so much for you comment. I haven’t read A Thousand Splendid Suns, but I have it. I will have to move it up higher on my TBR. I would like to read The Kite Runner again, but I haven’t been in a “heartbreaking” mood lately.

  2. I admitted to being bored by the early chapters of Harry Potter in my list too! It’s now my favourite series but at the time I just didn’t get it, at least not until I passed those first 6 or so chapters.

  3. An I the only person that does not care for the Harry Potter and Twilight series? Da vinci Code kept saying i was going to library this and never did. oohh, i remember Sweet Vally High books.

  4. Great choices, some of them made my list too. This weekend my aunt and I were just talking about The Kite Runner. She recommended to me A Thousand Splendid Suns.

  5. I liked Davinci Code the best of all the Dan Brown books. We had one copy in our house and it made the rounds through everybody! It was pretty dog-eared by the time we were all done reading it.

    • I loved Digital Fortress and the other non-Robert Langdon one (title is escaping me) a lot. But Da Vinci code will always hold a special place in my heart. The only one I didn’t enjoy that much was The Lost Symbol and that is just because I had it all figured out way too soon and the last 150 pages seemed unnecessary…

  6. I don’t read YA a lot, but I LOVED The Hunger Games series. And, of course, I devoured the Sweet Valley books when I was younger. Did you know a new Sweet Valley book has just been released? 10 years later, all grown up, that kind of thing? I might have to check it out…

    • As a matter of fact, I just picked up Sweet Valley Confidential from the library. I started it and am thus far disappointed. I don’t think it lives up to the characters of the original books at all. I will read it and put up a review shortly.

Leave a Reply

