Lost in a Good Book (Thursday Next #2)

Title: Lost in a Good Book (Thursday Next #2)

Author: Jasper Fforde

Summary from Goodreads: 

“If Thursday thought she could avoid the spotlight after her heroic escapades in the pages of Jane Eyre, she was sorely mistaken. The unforgettable literary detective has another think coming.” The love of her life has been eradicated by the corrupt multinational Goliath, and to rescue him Thursday must retrieve a supposedly vanquished enemy from the pages of “The Raven.” But Poe is off-limits to even the most seasoned literary interloper. Enter a professional: the man-hating Miss Havisham from Dickens’s Great Expectations. As Miss H’s new apprentice, Thursday keeps her motives secret as she learns the ropes of Jurisfiction, where she moonlights as a Prose Resource Operative inside books. As if jumping into the works of Kafka and Austen, and even Beatrix Potter’s Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies, weren’t enough, Thursday finds herself the target of a series of potentially lethal coincidences, the authenticator of a newly discovered play by the Bard himself and the only one who can prevent an unidentifiable pink sludge from engulfing all life on Earth.

Personal Review:

I have to say that I absolutely loved this book. I greatly preferred it to The Eyre Affair. I love the plot line and the characters a lot better in this book. And I love the character of Miss Havisham. I hated her in Great Expectations, but in Lost in a Good Book, she is an absolutely fantastic character. I love her wit and everything about her character. I also love the idea of book jumping.

One of my favorite scenes was the trial that took place in The Trial by Kafka. Great scene. And I love how Thursday got away with things with that judge without even realizing that she was doing it.

The start of the book was a bit slow and I wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy it, but things swiftly picked up and I really got into the book. It made me laugh so often. I was listening to it on audio and I found myself trying to make excuses of things I could do while listening to the book (I only listen to audio books while doing something else). I normally do not like audio books at all, but this one was absolutely great.

I started the third book, but I have to admit that I returned it to the library without finishing it because I just couldn’t get into it like the second book. I found my mind drifting quiet a bit in the third book and to tell you the truth, I have absolutely no clue as to what the plotline of that book was. I may try it again later, but right now, I have bigger and better books to read.

Rating: 4.5

Have you read any of the books in the Thursday Next series? What do you think of them? Would you recommend that I give some of Jasper Fforde’s other books a try? I have Shades of Grey checked out from the library right now and was wondering if it was worth reading.

Leave a Reply

