Wondrous Strange

Title: Wondrous Strange (Wondrous Strange #1)

Author: Lesley Livingston

Summary from Goodreads:

Since the dawn of time, the Faerie have taken. . . .

For seventeen-year-old actress Kelley Winslow, faeries are just something from childhood stories. Then she meets Sonny Flannery, whose steel-gray eyes mask an equally steely determination to protect her.

Sonny guards the Samhain Gate, which connects the mortal realm with the Faerie’s enchanted, dangerous Otherworld. Usually kept shut by order of icy King Auberon, the Gate stands open but once a year.

This year, as the time approaches when the Samhain Gate will swing wide and nightmarish Fae will fight their way into an unsuspecting human world, something different is happening . . . something wondrous and strange. And Kelley’s eyes are opening not just to the Faerie that surround her but to the heritage that awaits her.

Now Kelley must navigate deadly Faerie treachery—and her growing feelings for Sonny—in this dazzling page-turner filled with luminous romance.

Wondrous Strange is a richly layered tale of love between faerie and mortal, betrayal between kings and queens, and magic . . . between author and reader.

Personal Review:

Okay, I want to preface this review with saying that I read this about a month ago or so and so a lot of the details have started to slip out of my mind. I apologize for that!

Now, I am not a person who really enjoys the paranormal series. Yes, I loved Harry Potter and the first book in the Twilight series, but other than that, I normally do not go for this genre… but this book was AMAZING. I loved it.

The characters were very likable and the whole idea of this book was original to me. Everything from the idea of the Janus to the four kingdoms in the Faerie world… it wasn’t like anything I had ever read before. I also loved how this tied in with A Midsummer Night’s Dream so much. I played a part in that play (I think Titiana, but I can’t remember) when I was in the forth grade, but I haven’t read it again since. Shakespeare is not an author I read a lot… I don’t like his plays, but this book made me want to reread it. I loved how it all tied in together.

In addition, the mystery and questions kept me going throughout this whole book. And I have to be honest, the ending… did not see that coming.

I cannot wait to read Darklight and Tempestous. I have them checked out from the library and I hope to start Darklight in the next day or two.

If you have not read this book, READ IT! I don’t care if it is not your genre, this is an amazing book and you need to read it!

Rating: 5

Have you read this book or the others in the series? What did you think? Did you love it as much as I did? Please leave a comment and let me know what you thought of the book!

Leave a Reply

