Booking Through Thursday

All other thing being equal, would you rather read a book that’s hard/challenging/rewarding or light/enjoyable/easy?

I would always rather read something light/enjoyable/easy. I read for my pleasure. There are so many other things that I do to increase my mental capacity that when, at the end of the day, I pick up a book, I just want it to be something that I like… something that I don’t have to use too much brain capacity to think about…. Now if I am in the mood for something heavy, then I will read that, because that is what I want to read at that particular moment. But unless I am in the mood for that, it ain’t gonna happen. I like YA books. They have characters I can identify with and themes that are serious, yet not pretencious.

What about ya’ll? Do you like heavy books or light books? Leave a link and let me know!

10 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. My answer is a lot like yours. I really enjoy YA books too, strangely more now than when I was a young adult. I think they must have gotten better in the last few years 🙂

    My BTT is here if you’d like a look 🙂

  2. I think it depends on my mood — I still enjoy reading children’s books and YA books sometimes as well. Whatever I am reading, however, it has to hold my interest or it just isn’t going to happen! The days are over of me trying to force myself to read something just because I started it!

  3. I read for both, but for me, I consider a novel challenging if I find it boring. And that can include any genre. I also like YA, but I am an eclectic reader and get bored pretty quickly if I stick to one genre.

Leave a Reply

