Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Sorry that this post was originally blank. I guess I accidentally deleted it when I went to schedule it for posting. I really don’t know what happened. But I rewrote it so here it is!

Title: Lola and the Boy Next Door

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Summary from Goodreads:

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion . . . she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit — more sparkly, more fun, more wild — the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket — a gifted inventor — steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Personal Review:
Okay, first thing I want to go over is the cover. I love the cover of this book. The model who portrays Cricket is really good looking. I love his outfit. The plaid shirt and the pinstrip pants are an interesting combination, but it totally works. And then there is Lola… She is cute. I love her outfit. I would totally wear it. I am so not god at putting together outfits, but what she is wearing is so cute.

And the story was so cute. I haven’t read Anna and the French Kiss yet, but this book totally put it on my library queue. I cannot wait for it to arrive. As you may have realized from my rant about Matched, I do not like love triangles. I was initially worried that I would have this problem in this book, since there was the whole Criket – Lola – Max triangle… but Cricket is so perfect that really it was no competition, and in the end, Max was not worthy of Lola.

The cast of characters that Perkins put together were perfect. Nathan and Andy remind me of Cameron and Mitchell from Modern Family. They are probably two of my favorite characters so you can view this as a compliment. I like how they are strict and not your “typical gays”. They are awesome!!! And then there is Lindsey… I love how she is a Nancy Drew wannabe and that she called Lola “Ned”. She was amazing. She truly was a great best friend. And then there is Anna and St. Clair. I have not read Anna and the French Kiss yet but seeing them in this book makes me really interested in it. They are so cute and really seem to be soul mates.

Collipe is one of those characters that, by the end of the book, you are on her side… and you totally get why she acted the way she did. As an overprotective sibling, I totally get why she did some of the things that she did to Lola. Max is someone that you are kind of ambigious about until you aren’t… I won’t say anything more about that because I don’t want to ruin anything. And then there is Cricket. Perfect, dependable Cricket. There isn’t really much to say about Cricket other than that he is amazing.

I love how the setting is in California. I am from California and let me tell you, there aren’t a lot of great books set in California.

Really, all I can say is that this book is AWESOME and if you haven’t read it… go get it! Read and it! And then come back here and tell me what you think about this book!

Rating: 5

2 thoughts on “Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

  1. i loved the book a lot. it was a good book to read if u r in to romances and a lil drama. this book had a little bit of suspense because u didnt really know who lola was going to end up with. i wont give u what happens at the end of the book. will she choose her rocker boyfriend? or will she choose the boy that broke her heart, but who has changed, and now has a lot of feelings for her? read the book and u can find out for yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

