My Read-A-Thon Food

Okay, I didn’t post my reading area because, frankly, I didn’t get it all cleaned up. I decided sleep was better. Anyway, here are picks of my food. I want to preface this by saying it is A LOT of food and I will in no way be eating all of it. As a matter of fact, I usually munch on my readathon snacks over the course of a month or two after the readathon. Additionally, I am not the only one in my house hold that will be eating from all of this. So I am not quiet the pig that this post will make me out to be.

Drinks:

  • Amazing Mango Smoothie drink from Bolthouse Farms. This is a favorite of mine. It is incredibly smooth and very healthy. The amount of fruit in each bottle is astounding.
  • Sparkling Pumpkin Cider. I saw this in the store and it looked really interesting. I took a quick sip before putting it in the fridge. It was really good. It reminds me of Harry Potter!
  • Cherry Coke
  • A&W Rootbeer
  • Hot Apple Cider and Hot Chocolate might also make an appearance if need be.

Breakfast:

  • Cinnamon Coffee Cake Bites
  • Whole Wheat Bagel with Vegetable Garden Cream Cheese
  • Pumpkin Pie Lite Yougart

 Lunch:

  • Tomato Mozzarella Pasta Salad

Dinner:

  • Spaghetti with Tomato Basil Sauce (hmm, I don’t think I thought about the amount of pasta when I was grocery shopping. I might have Lettuce Wraps for lunch instead).
  • Rosemary Olive Oil Bread with Pesto Sauce. Now this is delicious. I will post a pick when I make this, because it is simply to die for!

Fruit:

  • Kiwis
  • Pineapple
  • Strawberries

Cheese:

I want to preface this really quickly by saying that I love cheese. It is probably one of my favorite foods. Every readathon I allow myself to treat myself to a couple of the more exotic cheeses.

  • Fontina
  • Edam
  • Mozzarella with herbs in it.

Chips:

  • Hint of Lime Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Flamas (I can only eat 5-10 at a time)
  • Cinnamon Sugar Pita Chips
  • Mango Salsa
  • Cajun Bean Dip

Sweeties:

  • Lindt Chocolate Truffles (The most amazing chocolate in the world. Another treat that I allow myself only during readathons.
  • Crunchie Bar
  • Aeros Mint
  • Raspberry Lemonade twistie thing
  • Cupcakes:
    • Obsession – a Chocolate Cupcake with Chocolate Chips and Peanut Butter icing
    • Lemon Surprise – Lemon Cake with a Raspberry filling
    • Red Velvet
    • Snickerdoodle – Cinnamon infused cupcake with cinnamon frosting. One of the best cupcakes I have ever had in my life!

So those are my treats. I know, there is a lot. But I promise, most of this won’t even be touched at all during the readathon. I do this every single readathon. The problem is that I need options. Too many options. So I buy WAY too many treats. Oh well, I am prepared to live with this problem.

So what are you treating yourself to this readathon? Do you have pics? Which of my treats is your favorite?

6 thoughts on “My Read-A-Thon Food

  1. No one can accuse you of being unprepared! IMHO, snacks are the heart of the readathon 😉 Have a great one! Rah, rah, ree! Kick ’em in the knee .. and keep reading! Go Team Smarties!

    • @ShaReKay – I completely agree. The food is just as important as the books!

      @Aditi – hahaha – well follow your instruction and get a snack!

      Thank you Team Smarties cheerleaders!

    • Aunt Amy – You definitely should. It is so much fun!!! And bread and cheese (and the access to so much different kinds of cheese) is definitely a result of where I grew up. We used to have a cheese dinner night every so often at home. It was my favorite!

  2. Im checking out peoples Dewey posts so I know what to prepare for. 2013 will be my first year to take part. Last year I got a little confused with the times being here in NZ so I am gonna make a 100% honest effort. FOOD: I never wouldve thought to be prepared. Saves some prep time buying easy snacks. Awesome! Will add this to my TO DO List for the readathon

Leave a Reply

