Ready or Not

Title: Ready or Not (All-American Girl #2)

Author: Meg Cabot

Summary From Goodreads:

Top ten things Samantha Madison isn’t ready for: 10. Spending Thanksgiving at Camp David

9. With her boyfriend, the president’s son

8. Who wants to take things to the Next Level

7. Which Sam inadvertently announces live on MTV

6. While discussing the president’s dubious policies on families, morals, and, yes, sex

5. Juggling her new after-school job at Potomac Video

4. Even though she’s already the (unpaid) teen ambassador for the UN

3. Getting accosted because she’s “the redheaded girl who saved the president’s life,” despite her new ebony tresses

2. Dealing with her popular sister Lucy, who for once can’t get the guy she wants

and the number-one thing Sam isn’t ready for?

1. Finding out the hard way that in art class, “life drawing” means “naked people.”

Personal Review:

Full disclaimer – I listened to this book on audio. This is important because I thought that narrator had the most annoying voice in the world so every time Sam “spoke” I wanted to kill her. Whine whine whine. Want some cheese with that whine, Same?

Anyway, this is another book that I really wanted to love but I hated it. I know that a lot of people will put this all down to the sex factor. I won’t lie that that is part of why I hate it. But it isn’t the only reason I hated it.

Narrator: Like I mentioned earlier, the narrator in this book was incredibly annoying. She whined and it just drove me up the wall. It is in moments like this when I remind myself why I am hesitant to listen to audio books. But when you are stuck in the car as much as I am, you are willing to do it.

Samantha: This wasn’t the same Samantha Madison that I remember from All-American Girl. She is extremely judgmental (especially about her sister, Lucy. Does she not remember that at the end of the last novel, Lucy broke up Jack because of how he treated Sam?). She jumps to conclusions all the time. She whines. And she is rude. The way she treats the president is just flat out rude. And to do it on national tv is incredible wrong. She was just altogether unappealing.

Sex: Yes, there is the sex factor. Now while I personally believe in abstinence, I also know and understand that I cannot force my opinion on anyone else. And I am okay with that. Everyone has their agency to choice what they want to do for themselves. But in this book, Cabot pushes her agenda on the reader. And it was sickening. She makes a person feel like it they choose not to have sex until they are married, then they are foolish and stupid.

Now if Cabot was trying to go for the approach to “wait until you are mature and ready” then she failed. The whole novel Sam goes on and on about how she is not ready to have sex yet. Which is quiet a mature decision. Yet when she goes to tell him this, she sees him with his shirt of an all of a sudden, all of that goes out of the window and she “jumps his bones”. She ends up going with a spur of the moment decision instead of what she had decided through out the whole book. In whole, she just proved over and over again in this whole novel how immature she was to be having sex.

And then there is the purity club. Yes, because all people who believe in purity are just like Kris Parks and go around calling other people sluts. That is so real (please read the sarcasm in that). Listen, I have friends who choose to have sex outside of wedlock and friends who choose to wait. It isn’t my place to judge, it is my place to love them for who they are. So I did not appreciate the extreme stereotyping deployed by Cabot.

Ending conclusions:  In short, it is possible that I hated this book so much that I am tempted to not ever read anything by Meg Cabot ever again. It was awful and there were no redeeming qualities. I absolutely loathed it. Which sucks because I liked the first book and this one has essentially ruined it for me. Thanks for nothing, Meg. Would have been better if you had never even written this one.

Rating: 0.5

Leave a Reply

