Princess Academy

Title: Princess Academy

Author: Shannon Hale

Summary From Goodreads:

Miri lives on a mountain where, for generations, her ancestors have quarried stone and lived a simple life. Then word comes that the king’s priests have divined her small village the home of the future princess. In a year’s time, the prince himself will come and choose his bride from among the girls of the village. The king’s ministers set up an academy on the mountain, and every teenage girl must attend and learn how to become a princess.

Miri soon finds herself confronted with a harsh academy mistress, bitter competition among the girls, and her own conflicting desires to be chosen and win the heart of her childhood best friend. But when bandits seek out the academy to kidnap the future princess, Miri must rally the girls together and use a power unique to the mountain dwellers to save herself and her classmates.

Personal Review:

Yet another book I hoped to love but the narrator on the audiobook ruined it. Why do female narrators sound so whiny all the time? Because that is what Miri sounded like every time she spoke. A whiny brat.

I know, I know. It isn’t fair to judge this book off the audio and I should take the plot into consideration and all that sort of thing. I wish that it were that easy. But it just isn’t. The audio ruined everything about this book for me and I wasn’t able to view it rationally. I disliked the book so much that I was able to put it down for two months before I finally forced myself to finish it (during the readathon).

I didn’t find Miri to be a likable character. She felt sorry for herself WAY too much. I found the whole idea of quarry-speak to be annoying and stupid. And the love of the mountain is just plain on ridiculous. None of the characters (apart from Britta) were likable. I just didn’t like it.

I am going to leave my review there because I don’t really have anything else to add. I will probably not read the sequel seeing as I didn’t like the first book at all. I will pass it along to my 11 year old sister and hope she appreciates it more than I did.

Rating: 2

3 thoughts on “Princess Academy

  1. It’s too bad the audiobook ruined it for you. As for me, when I picked this book up, I read it within a day of buying it, I just couldn’t put it down!

Leave a Reply

