The Host

Title: The Host

Author: Stephanie Meyer

Summary From Goodreads:

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, didn’t expect to find its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love.

Featuring one of the most unusual love triangles in literature, THE HOST is a riveting and unforgettable novel about the persistence of love and the essence of what it means to be human.

Personal Review:

Story Universe: I have never read a body snatcher book, so this was a first… and I don’t think I have really read an alien book either (maybe one or two but I really don’t remember). So to me, this was all new. And I liked it. I liked the idea of these aliens that took over the human bodies… kinda like leeches… and the humans that resisted them. It was all very interesting. I look forward to reading the next two books in this series.

Characters: Wanderer – She is great. Really? How can she be so good? How is that possible? But she is and I loved it! So selfless. So self-sacrificing. So everything good! Melanie – She was perhaps a little too aggressive for my personal taste, but she grew on me. And I love the relationship that Wanda and Melanie develop. The genuine love and friendship that they develop between the two of them. I also liked watching it grow. It was completely natural. Jared – I did not like Jared. Not a fan at all. And I could not understand why both girls were so gaga over him. And I guess that when Melanie fell in love with him, she thought that he was the only other human left on the face of the earth. But aside from that, I found nothing likable about him. Blah. Ian – Oh Ian. Completely swoon-worthy. I loved him. He was so loyal and faithful and everything wonderful. I am glad that it all worked out like it should in the end. Jamie – Oh Jamie… I wish I had a little brother like Jamie. As it is, I have no brothers so I guess I am out of luck. I loved how loving he is. I think he truly is someone that you couldn’t help but love. Kyle – You spent forever hating him. Like the whole book. And then in the end, he redeems himself. And that is perhaps the most beautiful part of the story. In the end, this is a book about redemption.

Romance: To tell you the truth, the depth of love in this book is too much for me. I don’t believe in love that strong. So strong that a body, not occupied by that body, cries out for that one true love. I don’t accept that. Like if someone woke up from a coma and had no memories, their body would still call for that one person… I don’t accept that. In addition, I don’t like when love is put above all other family. And I felt that many times, the love that Melanie and Wanda directed towards Jared was stronger than the love that they had for Jamie. I didn’t like that at all. I liked the love that was shared between Ian and Wanda because it seemed more reasonable and more logical.

Conclusion: I liked it. Except for the extremity of the romance. I recommend it. It is much better than the Twilight series.

Rating: 4

Leave a Reply

