Crank by Ellen Hopkins

Title: Crank

Author: Ellen Hopkins

Summary From Goodreads:

In Crank, Ellen Hopkins chronicles the turbulent and often disturbing relationship between Kristina, a character based on her own daughter, and the “monster,” the highly addictive drug crystal meth, or “crank.” Kristina is introduced to the drug while visiting her largely absent and ne’er-do-well father. While under the influence of the monster, Kristina discovers her sexy alter-ego, Bree: “there is no perfect daughter, / no gifted high school junior, / no Kristina Georgia Snow. / There is only Bree.” Bree will do all the things good girl Kristina won’t, including attracting the attention of dangerous boys who can provide her with a steady flow of crank

Personal Review:

I love Ellen Hopkins. She isn’t afraid to address the hard topics. And drug addiction is a hard topic. This book made me glad that I have never experimented with drugs. Or ever had a boyfriend who pressured me to do something I didn’t want to do… or made me feel like I should be doing something that I shouldn’t be.

Ellen Hopkins really knows how to pull on your heartstrings. The choices and decisions that Kristina (or Bree) make are all ones that I would never want to make. It was hard to watch her make those decisions and not be able to stop her. It was hard to understand why she made the decisions she made, but it was all very realistically portrayed.

Ellen Hopkins is a master at using verse to paint a story before your eyes. I normally hate verse, but I will read anything by Ellen Hopkins! Her books don’t leave anyone feeling happy and like all is right in the world. But instead, in the end, you are left thinking. And that is just as important as feeling happy and like all is right in the world.

Rating: 5

One thought on “Crank by Ellen Hopkins

  1. The book sounds like a very powerful one. I so agree with you about experimenting drugs. This Friday I heard about a girl from our university who died after experimenting with XTC. She was just 20 years old… while reading the news I thought the same thing as you: I’m so glad I never was tempted or made tempted to experiment with it.

Leave a Reply

